Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Ready to Dance? May 21, 2009

This morning I woke up to the tastiest of green monsters, kale, banana. pineapple, and chia seeds. Then I proceeded to waste some time attempting to take a more interesting than usual picture of the drink with a pouring action shot. I think I failed. I had no time to arrange things for proper lighting or camera propage.

2009_05_21_pour

2009_05_21_monster

Later in the morning I dug into two Activia yogurts. And you can multiple this photo by two to represent the yogurts I had before going to sleep last night. So creamy and good.

2009_05_21_yogurt

For lunch I fixed up a giant salad. It started with baby spinach, carrot, cucumber, grape tomatos, and broccoli sprouts. Then it was topped with steamed edamame and broccoli. And it was finished with a giant dollop of citrusy bean dip. Perfect mix of flavours and textures (though now that I think about it, I could have added some crunchy nuts).

2009_05_21_salad

And late in the afternoon I dug into my favourite Clif bar, Carrot Cake.

2009_05_21_clif

Dinner was engineered as a way to consume a condiment I just had to make. It started with reading about some one else “lovin” the recipe, and was meant to be when I got home and my roomie told me he made it for lunch and it was amazing. The Back to Basics Balsamic Vinegrette from ED&BV. I used almond oil and maple syrup, and it was truly delicious, my taste buds were pleased. The chosen dressing vehicle was boiled beets and tofu. The beets were particularly wonderful. And as a side note, my roomie made the Savoury French (Puy) Lentils for dinner, and I had a bit, and they were also pretty fantastic. He’s been busy copying recipes into his notebook….

2009_05_21_dinner

I’ve also been told there are plans to make a spice cake tonight, so I’m saving room for a little dessert later.

On the way home something mildly exciting happened. I saw Sunny Fong (aka. winner of the last season of Project Runway Canada). I stood beside him on the bus, then followed him onto the subway. Well, I didn’t actually follow him, I even stopped to buy next week’s metropass, but he must have been held up somewhere else because I ended up right behind him again on the escalator down to the platform. I wasn’t even entirely sure it was him, because he had a cold so his voice is scratchy when he was talking to his friend beside him, and he was wearing big sunglasses, but the hair was the same, and I checked the tatoos once I got home and they did indeed match. And that’s my fun story for the day.

Now who’s ready for some summer television goodness?  So You Think You Can Dance starts tonight!

 

One Response to “Ready to Dance?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    SUNNY FONG!!!!! Oh my gosh, that is sooo cool. I loved him on PR!!!


Leave a Reply

