Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Like a Hippie May 23, 2009

I felt like such a hippie buying this yesterday.

2009_05_23_hemp

Check out that protein!

2009_05_23_nutrition

In order to truely try out this new food for the first time, I ate some straight up for breakfast.

2009_05_23_butter

I have to say Raw Hemp Nut Butter is okay.  I’m not crazy about it plain, but I can see it being good mixed into things.  It smells a bit peanutty, but the flavour is very earthy and creamy.  It seems like it’s well suited to savoury applications like tahini.  I’m looking forward to experimenting with it at least.

The rest of my breakfast was a tasty smooth green monster.  This fruity mix included kale, chia seeds, banana,  pineapple, and a lime.  I love the lime addition every time I do it.

2009_05_23_monster

For lunch I was a bit flummoxed as to what I wanted, so I started out with a fruit salad.  In the bowl is strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, peach, and watermelon.  I can’t believe I paid $4/lb for a peach.  But I was craving new summery fruit, and at least it was organic, from the States as opposed to Chile, and tasted awesome!  I love drupes.

2009_05_23_fruit

After that sweet mix I decided I wanted oatmeal, so I cooked up a serving with water and topped it with more sweetness, Danone Activia Red Fruits and Cereals yogurt. Mmmm…

2009_05_23_oatmeal

In the afternoon I snacked on some highly amusing cheese.  Someone ripped a bag open in the grocery store so the individual packets were marked down for super cheap.

2009_05_23_cheese

For dinner I fished out a serving of Coconut Curry Shepard’s Pie from the freezer.  It doesn’t look very pretty, but it still tasted good.

2009_05_23_dinner

And I finished off the night with another sweet note, a bowlful of wonderful watermelon.

2009_05_23_watermelon

 

2 Responses to “Like a Hippie”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, that is one awesome cool new nut butter! I am going to be on a lookout for it! And CHEESE IN CUTE SHAPES???? SOOO AWESOME!!

  2. Krista Says:

    Hemp butter, eh? Sounds very interesting indeed!

    My kids love those cheese shapes!


Leave a Reply

