Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Chinese Bakery Day May 24, 2009

Breakfast this morning started out with an Activia Peach and Cereals Yogurt.

2009_05_24_yogurt

And it finished with raspberries, blueberries, and a handful of trail mix.  Which included awesome macadamia nuts.

2009_05_24_berries

I’ve been craving chinese bakery buns for a while now, and while it is rather unhealthy, it’s a rare occurance, so I figure it’s okay to indulge once in a while.  I paid a visit to chinatown and came out with a few goodies.  For lunch I had some steamed sticky rice with chicken in it, and a hot dog roll.  Plus grape tomatoes and half a small romaine heart drizzled in Back to Basics Balsamic Vinagrette for a little green.  Why is chinese bakery bread so good? (I know, lots of fat, no fiber).

2009_05_24_lunch

All afternoon I was drinking lots of this.  And it was delicious and refreshing.  Chocolate mint, lemon slices, ice and water.

2009_05_24_water

Late afternoon I made a batch of Zucchini Spelt Muffins from ED&BV.  I made half the recipe but still made 9 muffins because my silicone muffin liners are small.  They turned out really well, and they taste so good!  I’m looking forward to having them for breakfasts and snacks for the rest of the week.

For dinner I made zucchini fries tossed in teriyaki sauce and a tuna sausage.  I was really impressed by the sausage, from what I can tell it’s just chopped up chunks of tuna (ie. no filler) that have been seasoned and stuffed into the casing.  I don’t know what brand it was though, I just found them individually packaged on styrofoam trays like the other fresh fish fillets in the seafood case at Metro.  And double dinner dessert was a Zucchini Spelt muffin and a red bean mochi from the bakery.  I love me some glutinous rice.

2009_05_24_dinner

And now that laundry’s done I need to make my bed and go to sleep.  I accidentally stayed up until almost four last night (this morning?) reading, but was still up by eight, so I am TIRED tonight.

 

3 Responses to “Chinese Bakery Day”

  1. Meredith Says:

    I have trouble putting down my book to go to sleep too!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Mmm, love all your eats. I love Chinese bakeries. Coconut buns are my favorite! And steamed sticky rice is delightful! We have some in the freezer. I think they are made with sausage. I haven’t got around to trying them yet.

  3. Marianne Says:

    I live on the coast, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a fish sausage in any market. Crazy! They sound like something I would totally pick up to try though 🙂


Leave a Reply

