Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Dinosaurs for Lunch May 25, 2009

This morning’s breakfast was going to be a green monster. But then I saw the roomie brought home some yogurts last night, so I nabbed myself one of those instead. Except instead of the granola it came with, I sprinkled on top a crumbled Zucchini Spelt muffin, and added a bit of plain yogurt to up the volume/reduce the sweetness.

2009_05_25_breakfast

For lunch I packed myself a giant salad containing romaine, cucumber, carrot, red pepper, and asparagus along with some Back to Basics Balsamic Vinegrette.

2009_05_25_salad

Plus a sandwich of Tofurkey, spring mix, cheese dinos, and Big Bull steak sauce on half a multigrain roll (the top half). I liked the tofurkey, this was the first time I’ve tried it and it makes a really good sandwich. It makes me want to make another batch of my own seitan using my new liquid smoke, and maybe adding the steak sauce directly to the “meat”?.

2009_05_25_sandwich

I also brought along some watermelon, strawberries, and the rest of the peach for afternoon snacking.

2009_05_25_fruit

Then when I got home I made a rather extravagant dinner. Extravagant due to the price of the raw materials! I was in a spendy sort of mood when I went in search of kabocha at whole foods this weekend, and while they failed me in the squash department, I made out with with a package of Beretta Farms extra lean ground beef. Organic, grass fed, and local, yes please! $12/lb….um, once in a while, sure (but don’t tell my mom, she taught me to never pay more than $4/lb for meat)!

2009_05_25_beef

I saved part the meat for the freezer, and mixed some with parsley, roasted garlic, salt and pepper. Then shaped it into a giant burger, cooked up up, and ate half sandwiched on part of the remaining bun from lunch. My burger toppings were simple, more parsley and stone ground mustard. Absolutely delicious, I’m in love with parsley.

2009_05_25_burger

I thoroughly enjoyed it with leftover salad from lunch.

2009_05_25_dinner

 

2 Responses to “Dinosaurs for Lunch”

  1. Krista Says:

    Mmmm…great burger!! Love the cheese shapes on your sammie!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Whoa, your burger looks awesome, delicious!
    I wish there was a WF in my area. Oh well. But awh, those cheese slices are so adorable. I wish I could find those where I am too! Hahaha!


Leave a Reply

