Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Beats a Frappuccino Any Day May 26, 2009

Strawberries and Cream green monster, yes please! I even have an ingredients shot for you because I was anticipating the colour of the actual drink to be kinda gross. My strawberries were looking pretty sad, so I used a lot to finish off the container.

2009_05_26_ingredients

The rest of the mix was kale, Natura unsweetened soymilk, and chia seeds. And it was creamy, dreamy, and delicious. And surprisingly green.

2009_05_26_monster

For lunch I happily chomped through the other half of last night’s burger, topped with stone ground mustard and ketchup. Just as delicious as before.

2009_05_26_burger

And I had a salad of zucchini, carrot, and grape tomatoes tossed in Back to Basics Balsamic Vinegrette.

2009_05_26_salad

Later in the afternoon I enjoyed a few blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries along with a Zucchini Spelt muffin. These muffins were good to start with, but after a day or two, they are truely amazing, so moist and flavourful! It might have something to do with the freshly grated nutmeg.

2009_05_26_snack

Then for dinner I brought out my steaming contraption (big pot, colander, and lid from another pot that happen to fit together perfectly), and fixed up some artichokes and aspargaus. For the dip I deviated from my typical tahini and lemon juice, and tryed a mix of hemp nut butter, fresh squeezed lemon, pepper, and thyme instead. And it was equally wonderful.

2009_05_26_dinner

And for dessert I finished off the watermelon in the fridge and had another muffin, yummy.

2009_05_26_watermelon

 

5 Responses to “Beats a Frappuccino Any Day”

  1. Kristie Says:

    That smoothie looks completely amazing and perfect and thick like a good smoothie should be. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to get one that thick… I guess I’ll have to try adding some chia seeds to mine! And apparently a ton of strawberries… haha.

    I also love muffins a day (or a few days) later. They get SO much more moist and tastier. Delicious.

    And your dinner pic is my FAVOURITE. It’s gorgeous. Do you eat the artichokes just like that, just dip and chomp? I’ve never eaten one before, I’m a little bewildered by them!

  2. Krista Says:

    My Mom made artichokes alot when I was little. She used to steam them and then we would dip the leaves into an olive oil/vinegar mixture. My fave part about it was scraping the artichoke “meat” off the leaf with me teeth!! Ah, the memories!!!

  3. Meredith Says:

    Oooh what kind of bread is that with your veggie burger? Looks super yum!

    • plentifulplants Says:

      It was just a (giant) multigrain bun from a bakery (My Market Bakery in Kensington Market to be exact). Plus it was a beef burger instead of a veggie burger 🙂

  4. Marianne Says:

    I like your dip there for the artichoke & asparagus. I’ve never cooked artichoke myself, or even really know how to eat a whole one!


Leave a Reply

