Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Steamy Creamy Kaboch-y June 7, 2009

So last night I had some breakfat/dinner after a few hours of evening napping before heading to work.  I experimented a bit with my greens and found some beets greens in the freezer which I used to make pancakes.  I used the same recipe from last weekend but subbed ~ 2/3 cup thawed beet greens for the other veggies. I think I used an extra T of cornmeal too, because I didn’t bother looking up my own recipe, and it was too long ago now for me to clearly remember what I did last night. This new combo turned out really well, especially topped with a mixture of yogurt and black bean dip. And on the side was a Devil Dawg patty and about twice the number of strawberries that made it onto the plate.

2009_06_07_dinner

When I got home in the morning I was starving, so I finished off the strawberries topped with yogurt and some freeze-dried strawberry filled granola I found in a bulk bin. Then I had another bowl of just the granola because I was hungry and tired and too lazy to get up and get something else.

2009_06_07_yogurt

After a badly needed shower and doing laundry (subway tunnels are dirty, dirty places) I napped for a bit and woke up hungry again, so I finished off the granola, then discovered a fantastic flavour combination in a half a pita spread with hemp seed butter and homemade strawberry jam.

2009_06_07_pita

That snack held me over nicely until a more reasonable dinner hour when I set my steamer to work again on a pile of kabocha and broccoli. Plus I stirfried some shitake mushrooms and snow peas in a bit of soy sauce. Kabocha is GOOD. I also think it may also be what my dad actually planted the year the buttercup squashes were tastier then usual. I’ve already requested collards greens for the garden this year, now I’ll need to see if there’s still time to plant kabocha!

2009_06_07_steamed

And for dessert I dug into some of the cutest peaches ever.

2009_06_07_peaches

I dare you to pass by Saturn peaches in the grocery store and NOT buy them! The pits are so tiny, peanut sized!

2009_06_07_saturn

 

3 Responses to “Steamy Creamy Kaboch-y”

  1. Maggie Says:

    those peaches recently appeared in a local supermarket recently at crazy-high prices. but their name is so adorable- ‘donut peaches’!!!
    😀

    • plentifulplants Says:

      Donut peach is cute, but I think the geek in me prefers Saturn 🙂 And they were only $1.50/lb when regular peaches were $1/lb, so I bought some of each.

  2. Marianne Says:

    I’ve seen those donut peaches recently at my market, but I haven’t bought any – mostly because I hate fuzzy peach skin! They are cute though.


Leave a Reply

