Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Fruits and Peanuts June 13, 2009

…is all I ate today….well, almost…apparently sleeping in messes up my eating habits…

For breakfast, the trail mix fest started with a nectarine, strawberries, and some tasty roasted peanuts.

2009_06_13_breakfast

And a bit later there was a medjool stuffed with almond butter.

2009_06_13_date

Then a series of snacks throughout the afternoon, since I didn’t really feel like preparing a proper meal. I had a juicy slice of mango.

2009_06_13_mango

About 3 times this many dried papaya chunks.

2009_06_13_papaya

More peanuts, the evidence.

2009_06_13_peanuts

I broke the pattern a bit by pulling out the sandwich maker and sliding a bit of dill havarti between two bread slices.

2009_06_13_sandwich

And I made a nice refreshing treat, which I enjoyed while reading outside on my apartment building’s patio, and works wonderfully with this week’s BSI ingredient over at The Ungourmet, watermelon.

2009_06_13_watermelon


Watermelon Ice Cream
. Twas beyond simple. I had some watermelon chunks in the freezer from the last melon I bought, so I threw ~ 3 cups of big chunks into the blender with ~1/3 cup plain, unsweetened soy milk, and blended until smooth. Absolutely delicious, and refreshing.

2009_06_13_close

Then I just spent 1/2 and hour listing around the kitchen thinking I should make a salad or something for appearances sake, but realized I’m really not hungry, so I probaby shouldn’t. I promise, I’ll come up with something more entertaining tomorrow!

 

8 Responses to “Fruits and Peanuts”

  1. Krista Says:

    I have a sandwich maker like that which we use A LOT! It’s much safer for the kids to make a grilled cheese than the stove top…

    Love the watermelon ice cream.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Hi, I just found your blog from a link from another blog. It looks really nice!

    I’m just wondering, how did you make the watermelon ice-cream? In an ice-cream maker or you just froze the blend of soy milk and watermelon in the freezer? I’ve tried doing that before but it comes out like ice rather than creamy.

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I’m happy you like my blog! About the ice cream, the watermelon was frozen in chunks, and the soy milk was liquid. My blender is a Vita-mix, but I’m guessing any blender that has an ice-crushing feature would be able to handle the watermelon because it doesn’t freeze rock solid due to the sugar content. I would love to try out an ice cream maker though…

      I have in the past had success making ice cream buy freezing the liquid mix in the freezer and taking it out every hour or two and blending with an immersion blender. So if you’re hanging around the house anyway, you could give this a try.

  3. theungourmet Says:

    Your watermelon ice cream is the most perfect shade of pink.

    Thanks for throwing your recipe into the hat! :0)

  4. broccolihut Says:

    That watermelon ice cream sounds superb!

  5. Meredith Says:

    Watermelon ice cream — how perfectly refreshing!

  6. Marianne Says:

    Your watermelon ice cream looks so good!

  7. Mary Says:

    Your watermelon ice cream looks beautiful and it sounds so cool and refreshing. Thanks for sharing. It will get good use here this summer.


Leave a Reply

