Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

7 pounds of sweet June 14, 2009

I bought seven pounds of kabocha yesterday (it was going for 69 cents/lb!), 2 largish ones. And I steamed 1 whole one today to eat this week.

So breakfast part one was oatmeal cooked with a little banana, plus mango and cinnamon.

2009_06_14_oatmeal

Then breakfast part two was a chunk of warm kabocha with a spoonful of sunflower seed butter. Oh yum.

2009_06_14_kabocha

For lunch I fixed up a romaine salad topped with black beans, strawberries, and feta cheese.

2009_06_14_salad

Plus a Gena inspired (though probably not entirely raw) soup of zucchini, lime, a little Simply Organic Creamy Dill Dip mix (not raw?), and some extra dried dill. It was quite good, although would probably have been better with some avocado.

2009_06_14_soup

In the afternoon some people came over to play Wii, and I made muffins based off of this recipe, but replaced the applesauce and part of the carrot with mashed kabocha, flax with chia, and 2 T of the agave with blackstrap molasses, and used whole wheat pastry flour. And then cut the recipe in half. They were met with excellent reviews, very moist and gingerbready. I had one stuffed with runchy PB (because I really needed to eat more peanuts this weekend…) and finished the last one plain.

2009_06_14_muffin

And finally for dinner I had a plateful of steamed broccoli with pasta sauce for dipping, and a Tofurkey Beer Sausage donated by the roomie who has gone slightly crazy for them, and I have to agree, holy yum sausage!

2009_06_14_dinner

 

5 Responses to “7 pounds of sweet”

  1. Hey there! So glad you liked the soup, though I definitely think the avocado makes it what it is 🙂 Hope you keep trying!

  2. Amanda Says:

    isnt kabocha awesome? It has the texture of butternut squash or a potato or something, and then has the added bonus of being kinda sweet… but the nutritional info is insane!

  3. Meredith Says:

    That’s a good looking soup!

  4. Krista Says:

    Okay, I give. Where have you found kabocha squash??? I have looked every where in my town, plus I even checked at Whole Foods today. Nada. I am SO wanting to try this elusive squash that I’m seeing all over blogland!

    • plentifulplants Says:

      Chinatown! More specifically the first big grocery store on the east side of Spadina heading south from Dundas.

      I’ll make sure to hook you up, don’t worry 🙂


Leave a Reply

