Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

I see seas of green June 17, 2009

…and red fruits too…

This whole coming up with a post title business can be hard work!

My breakfast this morning was not green.  More purple/brown, but very tasty.  The monster included kale, chia seeds, pineapple, and blueberries.

2009_06_17_monster

For lunch I brought a sea of green salad, romaine, asparagus, green pepper, snap peas and lime juice/olive oil dressing.  And the waves were crested with light feta cheese.  (At least I’m trying to be entertaining!)

2009_06_17_salad

And snacking, red fruits!  Lychee, cherries, and not-so-red but oh-so-delicious apricots.

2009_06_17_fruit

When I got home I was starving so I had a few peanuts and a handful of blueberries to tide me over through the cooking process.

For dinner I pulled a piece of lemon and herb flavoured sole out of the freezer and heated it up in the steamer along with cauliflower, and nuked some frozen peas.  I kept the fish in the vacuum wrapped package in the steamer and the fish was perfectly cooked even though I left it going for ~10 minutes longer than I intended!  I like this fool-proof cooking method.  My cauliflower was a bit soft, but it tasted fine when I tossed it and the peas with the extra marinating liquid from the fish (that sounds better than fish juice, right?).

2009_06_17_dinner

Then dessert, Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich, yum.

2009_06_17_dessert

Now how about some sun tomorrow, and no rain!

 

2 Responses to “I see seas of green”

  1. Kristie Says:

    I always have a tough time with post titles, especially if there’s a lot going on in one single post.

    I like the feta “wave crests” haha. Cute.

    I need to try these Skinny Cow sandwiches, I’ve been wanting to for AGES.

  2. Krista Says:

    Love all the green in this post!


Leave a Reply

