Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Notice Recieved June 18, 2009

weather

So apparently Mother Nature has been successfully notified that Sunday is the first day of summer…

That didn’t help this morning though, I left my window open last night, and as you can see, my room was rather chilly with I woke up this morning.  The solution, oatmeal.  I played copy-cat and used an almost empty jam jar as my food delivery vessel.  Into my tummy went oatmeal with banana, extra water and chia seeds, my mom’s homemade strawberry jam, and some awesome Maranatha creamy peanut butter.

2009_06_18_breakfast

Then for lunch I packed up a container of snap peas, red pepper, a little bit of carrot (hiding at the bottom) and lots of kabocha (to make up for not eating it yesterday, of course)

2009_06_18_lunch

Plus for snacking I had a nectarine, a lychee (the other one was for the cubicle-mate), cherries and blueberries.

2009_06_18_fruits

Then a surprise! Due to the aforementioned first day of summer coming up the building management for my office building had a free ice cream day! So despite having had a little ice cream action yesterday I went all out and enjoyed this treat. So good!

2009_06_18_icecream

So it was no surprise that I wasn’t very hungry with I got home, but I figured I should get some protein in me so I cooked up the tofu I had started marinating in the morning along with some broccoli, instead of the full on stiryfry I had planned. The tofu was marinated in teriyaki sauce, pineapple, lemon juice, garlic and powdered ginger.  OMG it was good!  I usually eat tofu plain, not even cooked, but I might just had to include this marinating step a bit more often.

2009_06_18_dinner

And I’m slightly annoyed that I completely forgot about So You Think You Can Dance last night, so there isn’t even a point to watching the results tonight. But it’ll show up online in a few days, I’m sure.

 

Leave a Reply

