Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

I’ve got the Jicamas June 19, 2009

The fridge always gets so empty on Fridays.  Which is good in a way because it makes room for weekend shopping trips.  I guess that means I’m good at judging how much produce I’ll eat in a week?

Breakfast this morning was sweet and creamy and delicious, the last of  the kale, chia seeds, frozen banana, last of the blueberries and my last giant lychee. It turned out super dark green (thought the camera can’t really tell the difference). The only thing that would have made this monster better is a little Jay Robb action via Katie’s Giveaway!

2009_06_19_monster

Short day at work so I just brought a little salad, the last few leaves of romaine topped with my last carrot, some peas and some tasty feta.

2009_06_19_salad

When I got home I fixed up a snacky bowl filled with steamed kabocha, broccoli, cauliflower, red and green pepper, and cherries.

2009_06_19_snack

Plus a some dried blueberries found themselves in my mouth.

2009_06_19_blueberries

For dinner I was excited to try something new, almost raw sushi. No, I did not used cooked fish. I bought a jicama and processed it to rice-size, squeezed out a lot of water using a towel, then mixed it with some apple cider vinegar (if I had rice wine vinegar, I would have used it) and agave. My fillings were asparagus and shitake mushrooms which were sliced and soaked in teriyaki sauce (likely, not raw, not that I care that much) then had the excess liquid squeezed out of them. And my nori is toasted. But that definitely didn’t stop the rolls from being super delicious! I liked the jicama plain too, crisp and slightly sweet without being fruity, I should get some more for further experimentation. Plus I get to have more tomorrow because there’s extra rice 🙂

2009_06_19_sushi

And a late night snack of my own, properly flavoured Honey Sesame Kashi Crackers.

2009_06_19_crackers

 

3 Responses to “I’ve got the Jicamas”

  1. Krista Says:

    I was thinking that your salad looked great until I saw your sushi! Brilliant! I must try some jicama someday. I’m counting down the days until I get a kobacha, though!

  2. LOL your title is hilarious!

  3. Marianne Says:

    I haven’t had jicama in ages. I would never have though to use it as faux rice in sushi, that’s for sure. Probably because I like my rice!


Leave a Reply

