Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Sprout Quinoa-Sabe, Sprout June 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 9:18 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

So last night before work I dug into a fabulous discovery that I had prepared over the course of Saturday.  I didnt really take much time at all, it’s just that the time it did take was spread out.  Quinoa Tabouli from Raw Food, Real World.  Not only was the tabouli itself really good, I discovered that I rather love sprouted quinoa, so chewy yet crunchy, wonderful texture. And it’s so easy to make, all you have to do is soak the quinoa in water overnight, then transfer them to a colander to drain, and let them sit at room temp for at least 6 hours, covered with a towel, rinsing them a couple of times.

2009_06_21_tabouli

I also had some Clif Carrot Cake action going on.

2009_06_21_clif

Plus I brought these cranberries with me for snacking.

2009_06_21_craisins

After work, my cubicle mate and I were starving so we decided to got out to brunch.  Of course at 7:30 on a Sunday morning, few places are open, so we found ourselves at Fran’s. I ordered the Cheese and Herb Omlette, which was delicious with toast, jam, and a pile of fruit plus a couple bites of the cubicle-mate’s home fries. As well as a glass of fabulous freshly squeezed orange juice. That breakfast kept me full all morning and afternoon (which included a lengthy nap). SO for dinner I set to work on a BSI creation! Although, I now see that the recipe was due at noon (bad reader I am!), but it’s still a good recipe, and I did indeed eat it, so I’m still posting it 🙂

The nicest greens I found while shopping this weekend was a beautiful, and giant bunch of organic dino kale. So I mixed the rest of my sprouted quinoa (~3/4 cup, started from 1/4 cup, feel free to used cooked quinoa), with ~ 3/4 cup finely chopped kale, ~1/2 cup finely chopped pineapple, and 1.5-2 T barbeque sauce (I used Big Bull Steak Sauce, which has a base of dates and orange puree, ie. fruity).

My Tropical Kale Salad was crunchy with bursts of tangy sweetness, and not a hint of bitterness from the kale.

2009_06_21_kale

Then one of these sounded like an excellent idea.

2009_06_21_icecream

 

One Response to “Sprout Quinoa-Sabe, Sprout”

  1. Krista Says:

    All the quinoa in this post is giving me the urge to make some at dinner tonight!!!


Leave a Reply

