Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

I like it green June 25, 2009

I really, really do.

Green for breakfast: dino kale, strawberries, nectarine, chia seeds. And a very full glass, I almost added too much ice.

2009_06_25_monster

Green for lunch: Cauliflower, asparagus, and carrot in a dressing of blended avocado, cucumber, dill, green onion, oregano, salt and pepper.

2009_06_25_lunch

Almost-green for snack: cherries and strawberries (the tops of the strawberries were green!). I also grabbed a handful of Kashi crackers just before heading out the door this morning, so they never made it into any picture.

2009_06_25_berries

Green for dinner: zucchini noodles and steamed broccoli topped with lots of raw mole.

2009_06_25_dinner

Green for dessert: Steamed kabocha and hemp nut butter (the skin is green, and the butter is really pale green to my eyes). I missed my kabocha, but I finally made enough room in the fridge to steam some more!

2009_06_25_dessert

 

5 Responses to “I like it green”

  1. Krista Says:

    Do you cook the zucchini noodles or eat them raw? I imagine you could go both ways….

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I always eat zucchini raw because I don’t like how soggy it gets when you cook it, but I’m guessing you could blanch the noodles if you wanted to.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    hi again!
    great food blog!
    i’m just wondering, what do you think about your grains and protein intake? are you on a special diet or do you normally not eat grains so much? i’m a carb queen so i definitely couldn’t do your diet. hehe. but otherwise, i eat a lot like you do. lots of vegs and fruits. i also love the green smoothies!

    • plentifulplants Says:

      Hi!

      I guess I normally don’t eat grains so much. I was eating oatmeal every morning for breakfast in the winter, but usually I think I’m just too lazy to cook grains. My mom’s chinese, so growing up we ate rice a lot, and I would only usually take 1/4 or 1/3 cup of cooked rice for dinner (along with the other dishes of veggies and meat), I think I just find grains to be a bit boring. I like bread, but can never eat a whole loaf before it goes moldy or stale, so I tend to not bother buying it. I have been favouring the green monsters over cereal lately though…partly because my cereal stock is down and nothing has caught my eye while grocery shopping to stock up on.

      As for protein, I think my protein’s fine, green leafy veggies, quinoa (sprouted = yum!), some tofu, fish, beans, seitan, occasionally eggs, chicken or even beef, sometimes protein powders in my green monsters.

      I’ve been trying to eat what I want without worrying too much about the details, and trusting my body to tell me when it’s missing something. I think it’s working for me so far. Do you think I should be worried?

      • Rebecca Says:

        That’s interesting, thanks for the reply!

        And no, not at all, I didn’t mean to imply that you should be worried or that you’re deficient or anything. I was just wondering if you crave grains because I experience that sometimes. Haha.

        Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

