Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Monarchs, Moms, Markets, and Moose! June 27, 2009

I woke up feeling artistic for breakfast this morning. My kabocha and raw mole monarch is approaching symmetry, right? I had another piece of kabocha too, but it would have ruined the picture.

2009_06_27_breakfast

Then I set out for a morning at the markets with a fabulous blogger mom, Krista of Krista’s Kravings, and her beautiful daughter. I had a great time showing them around my favourite spots at both St. Lawrence and Kensington Markets. I even got Krista’s daughter to try durian, in the form of Durian Papaya jam, and she liked it! Krista particularly enjoyed a moose sighting, a remnant of the Moose In The City event 9 years ago (that long!?!)

2009_06_27_moose

It’ll be great to have a repeat market adventure later this summer too, we didn’t even make it to Chinatown!

2009_06_27_krista

When lunch time rolled around I finally got to dig into the veggies my parents brought my last week! I washed a bowl of lettuce and topped it with carrot, tomato, asparagus, feta cheese, and blended dill avocado dressing.

2009_06_27_lunch

And lunch dessert was a bowlful of strawberries and a caterpillar/slug/sea cucumber? The strawberries were delicious, the first local ones of the season, and I ate ate least twice the many throughout the afternoon. That brown thing was something new we discovered at The “World’s Most Ridiculous Bulk Food Store”, dried banana. I think it must have started out as a baby banana anyways, because I don’t see a whole regular sized banana shrinking quite that small, but it was quite good. It was a lot different than I was expecting, less sweet and kinda starchy/bready in texture instead of chewy, but I liked it.

2009_06_27_strawberries

Then some time in the afternoon between talking on the phone with MY mom, and catching up on a couple days worth of Google Reader I completely lost track of time, so when I got hungry for dinner I went with something fast and easy. A bowlful of zucchini noodles with mole, and a peanut butter and pickle wrap.

2009_06_27_dinner

And then I enjoyed a movie with a big glass of superfast iced tea. This tea concentrate caught my eye in the grocery store the other day, though I didn’t do a very good job of reading the label. I thought it was unsweetened concentrate, but upon closer examination, it was sweetened with (non-artificial) cane sugar. Oh well, I added one packet to 1 L of water (instead of 500ml as suggested), and it tasted perfect to me, not too sweet but also not watered down. It’ll be handy to have these around for fast iced tea through the summer. Especially since the roomie has a habit of using all the ice in the freezer making his own iced tea (during the day, when I’m not home), then not restocking the supplies!

2009_06_26_tea

Now hopefully tomorrow my pictures will be a bit less blurry. It took a lot more trys than it should have to get some of these pictures today. Playing golf for the first time yesterday really used muscles in my hands and forearms that aren’t normally used, when ever I go to press down with my finger to take a picture or to click the mouse, my finger starts shaking.  Obviously I wasn’t doing a very good job of taking advice to relax my hands!

 

4 Responses to “Monarchs, Moms, Markets, and Moose!”

  1. Marianne Says:

    Sounds like you had a fun day at the market 🙂 We’ve had some campaigns like your moose here in BC – orcas, bears, and now eagles. They are really interesting, hunting down all the different ones.

  2. Krista Says:

    I thought the dried banana was pretty good! Kinda chewy.

    I’ve looked at thos iced tea concentrates but haven’t bought them. Glad to hear they’re good!

    Next time we’ll do China town first! Sarah slept ALL the way home! What a bum! 🙂 THANKS again for a great morning!

  3. Rebecca Says:

    The dried banana looks good!
    Where is this “world’s most ridiculous bulk store” located?

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I think it’s actually called Dominic’s…or something like that. But it’s in the north side of the basement of the south building of St. Lawrence Market.


Leave a Reply

