Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Pride and Grass June 28, 2009

This morning started off with a refreshing green monster featuring kale, chia seeds, banana, and pineapple.

2009_06_28_breakfast

Later in the morning I headed out to restock my kale supply, and weather wasn’t looking particularly nice for a parade.

2009_06_28_rain

But  by the time I got home and had some lunch, kabocha piled with zucchini noodles and mole (the last of the non-frozen mole, and a new plate!), it had cleared up.

2009_06_28_lunch

Though it was still quite cool out, and people were generally more clothed than usual for the Pride Parade.  This float being an exception.

2009_06_28_pride

How about I show some of my own Skule (TM) pride with the Lady Godiva Memorial Bnad!

2009_06_28_skule

And the cannon!

2009_06_28_cannon

I wasn’t particularly feeling like standing outside in the dampness for hours on end, so I watched from my partment window.  Which allowed me to nibble on snacks such as a bowlful of fresh strawberries and papaya, and a couple of dried bananas.

2009_06_28_fruit

2009_06_28_banana

After the parade, I had a little wheat grass juicing adventure!  I picked up this bag at the grocery store for $4.50.

2009_06_28_wheatgrass

The internet told me to blend up the grass with some water in my Vitamix, then strain the pulp out with a mesh bag old white cotton T-shirt.  What the internet left out was to not put the whole half pound of grass in at once, and to cut up the grass a bit first to avoid the blades stalling.  But after I split the grass into three scissor chopped batches, and waited a few minutes for the blender to restart, all was well.  I added quite a bit of water, so I ended up with two ice cube trays, plus 12 muffin cups worth of juice in the freezer, as well as a glass left over to try out fresh.  I am glad I didn’t try to eat this massive amount of fiber, it looks a bit intimidating…never mind the wonky colouring of the picture.  I swear my hand isn’t THAT pink.

2009_06_28_pulp

My glass of wheat grass juice.  I really liked it!  I was surprised by how sweet it is, it tastes like it has stevia mixed in or something.  After the picture I added a couple ice cubes and a squeeze of lime, and the drink was perfect!  And yes, my tarragon is getting a bit out of hand, I need to find something good to use it in.

2009_06_28_juice

When dinner time rolled around I wasn’t very hungry, so I snacked on the last of the Kashi crackers, and finished off my jar of sunflower seed butter, probably about 2.5 servings of each.

2009_06_28_crackers

Now I need a shower, even after doing dishes my hands still smell like grass!  Anyone else excited to get a day off in the middle of the week?

 

One Response to “Pride and Grass”

  1. Krista Says:

    That wheat grass pulp looks like a chunk of cotton!
    I’ve got the last of my strawberries in my lunch today. They were oh so good!


Leave a Reply

