Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Is It Still A Zee-Bar If It Eaten In Canada? June 29, 2009

Breakfast this morning was trying to be a PB+J concoction, but it ended up being not-so-great. It tasted like it had tomato in it (which I DO NOT like). In the mix was kale, wheatgrass ice cubes, raspberries, and PB2. Raspberries + wheatgrass = not good. I chugged the mix down after adding a squirt of agave, but I think from now on the wheatgrass will be drunk buy itself.

2009_06_29_monster

Luckily my taste buds were made happy buy the snack I had later in the morning. I tried out the Honey Graham Z-Bar (Zed-Bar?) Krista gave me this weekend. It was pretty awesome, very cookie-like, I understand where all the blogger love is coming from. Thanks again Krista!

2009_06_29_zbar

For lunch I had the usual giant salad, lettuce, asparagus, carrot, cucumber, red pepper, green onion, and blended dill avocado dressing. I’m impressed at the dressing’s ability to stay green even though I blended it like 5 days ago, it doesn’t even taste very lemon-y, I only added some on top when I stuck it in the fridge.  It looks even greener in person than in this picture.

2009_06_29_salad

And afternoon snacks, tomato and the darkest plum I’ve ever seen.

2009_06_29_snack

For dinner I pulled a bag of frozen wax beans from the freezer, and a can of tuna from the pantry and stirfried them with olive oil, lemon juice, and lots of dill, chives, and green onion. It made a giant mountain of deliciousness.

2009_06_29_dinner

But I stil had a little room leftover for dessert, sweet strawberries. They’re starting to look a little grungy from being in the fridge, but I’d rather that than mold.

2009_06_29_strawberries

 

7 Responses to “Is It Still A Zee-Bar If It Eaten In Canada?”

  1. Krista Says:

    Glad you liked the bar. Next time we meet up I’ll bring you a few other flavours.

    Your bean/tuna dinner looks really good! I’ve got tuna pulled out for my lunch tomorrow.

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Wow, that avocado dressing sounds amazing! Have you posted the recipe?

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I posted the recipe, but not very formally. It was just ~3 small avocados, 1 avocado-sized chunk of cucumber, ~1/4 cup fresh dill, ~1 T fresh oregano (but I can’t taste it), and 1 whole green onion, blended. Then I flattened the surface of the dressing when I went to store it in the firdge and covered it with ~1 T lemon juice, which looked like it sort of absorbed in the next time I took it out.

      The avocado measurment is approximate because I had a bag of very over ripe advocados and used what I could salvage.

  3. Impressed & In Love Says:

    So I have been looking for an email address on the site but couldn’t find one anywhere so I’m using the comment tool. 🙂

    I love, love, love your site. Ever considered a side career as a food photographer and/or nutritionist? 😀

    I stumbled upon your site while searching for an apparently not-so-strange idea (since I now know that at least one other person does it) that popped into my head – adding jam to oatmeal.

    My curiousity led me here and this will definately be on my routine blogs.

    I have always thought of myself as a sort of foodie/epicure but you take it to another level. Love it.

    One question, what camera do you use? Your pictures are crisp, clean and delicious. I have to hold myself from licking the screen.

    • plentifulplants Says:

      Thanks, I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog! There are LOTS of other foodie blogs out there, why don’t you check out my blog roll to see some of the ones I follow?

      Jam and oatmeal is indeed delicious, wait till you see what I have planned for breakfast tomorrow!

      I’ve always liked photography, but the timetable scheduling gods always prevented me from taking photography classes in both highschool and university. And engineering is also fun, and a bit more practical? My camera is just a Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS, decent quality, inexpensive, and simple to use.

  4. Impressed & In Love Says:

    I can’t see a blog roll 😦


Leave a Reply

