Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Where has the week gone? July 3, 2009

This week felt like it flew by!  First I had Wednesday off, then Thursday I left the office to do some quick work at a subway station, which meant I got home really early, then today was the normal summer hours half day!  I guess I’ll make up for it by working Saturday night (Boo!).  It’s actually not that bad, kinda fun, but it does feel like it destroys the weekend a little bit.  But then Monday is a field trip to see a bridge in Huntsville!  Aside from the freeway up to Montreal a couple of times, and one road trip to Sault St. Marie via Tobermory 10 years ago (then back via Michigan), I’ve never been to any part of Ontario north of Toronto, so to me, Algonquin Park is considered WAY up north (keep in mind that Toronto is already ~100km north of where I grew up).  You know, as opposed to WAY WAY up north by Hudson Bay where nobody lives (apparently there’s a Polar Bear Provincial Park?) or even just Thunder Bay.

Anyway, on the the eats (I just spent forever being distracted by Google Maps!)  Breakfast this morning, I used another one of those super dark plums, along with blueberries, half a banana, chia seeds, and a big handful of kale in a tasty little green monster (I brought the rest to drink at work)

2009_07_03_breakfast

I also brought part one of lunch to work with me, broccoli, cucumber and baked kabocha drizzled with Ted Reader Peach Bourbon BBQ sauce.  Delicious.

2009_07_03_lunch

When I got home I was hungry for lunch part 2, chia oatgurt with a spoonful of PB2.

2009_07_03_oatgurt

Then lunch dessert/snacks, the last two Pumpkin Pie Bites.

2009_07_03_bites

And a sweet, juicy, super-ripe peach

2009_07_03_peach

For dinner I cleaned out the fridge with a GIANT salad containing the last of the lettuce and aspargus my parents brought me, cucumber, red pepper, chives, and the leftover tomato/avocado suace from yesterday.  And I’m pleased to report the mandoline was playing nicely today.

2009_07_03_salad

And to really clean out the fridge, I also finished the kabocha and broccoli, with a bit more BBQ sauce.

2009_07_03_kabocha

 

One Response to “Where has the week gone?”

  1. Krista Says:

    I like the idea of using the peach bourboun sauce as a dressing. Bet that was tasty. Have fun at work tonight…


Leave a Reply

