Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Overtime ?!? July 7, 2009

So for the first time ever, I worked unplanned, slightly emergency overtime today. Which means it is now ridculously late on a weeknight to be doing a post. And yet here I am.

For breakfast I whipped up a spinach, banana, chia, brazil nut milk smoothie. I love the creaminess that comes from just a little milk.

2009_07_07_monster

For lunch I had a salad mess of red pepper, asparagus, carrot, and avocado. The dressing was inspired by a dessert sauce I saw when flipping through Living Raw Food on the weekend, I blended up a nectarine, balsalmic vinegar, and tarragon. And it made an excellent salad dressing!

2009_07_07_salad

I also had a slice of cinnamon raisin ezekiel bread with almond butter.

2009_07_07_bread

And I snacked on a bowlful of mulberries and raspberries in the afternoon.

2009_07_07_berries

I ended up wishing I had brought more food to work with me, because when I got home 3 hours later than usual I was STARVING, and a banana, a couple handfuls of mulberries, and a few dates may have very quickly disappeared. Too quickly for the camera even!

Then I didn’t feel much ike doing any food preparation, so I dug a can of Health Valley Black Bean soup from the depths of the pantry and heated it up with a few dashes of salt and chili powder to up the flavour impact.

2009_07_07_soup

 

One Response to “Overtime ?!?”

  1. Krista Says:

    That dressing sounds very interesting…and simple! I wish I was as creative as some poeple!!!! 😉


Leave a Reply

