Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Leftovers Galore July 14, 2009

This morning started out with a sweet and tasty green monster. In the mix was lots of kale, a banana, nectarine, and chia seeds.

2009_07_14_monster

For lunch I repeated my lunch from yesterday (I just made extra yesterday), with a salad mess of broccoli, zucchini, asparagus, red pepper, and a hemp nut butter/lemon/mustard dressing.

2009_07_14_lunch

I had the most wonderful snack, a fresh batch of oatgurt with a peach and a tiny drizzle of maple syrup. Absolutely delicious. And you can tell there are definitely bacteria growing when the lid of the container you put your snack in is puffing out when you go to open it in the afternoon. I’m counting on them being good bacteria considering they haven’t made me sick yet 🙂

2009_07_14_oatgurt

For dinner I used the rest of my sprouted amaranth mixed with tahini and lemon juice to make a tabouli type deal with parsley, sage, tomato, and carrot. It’s really good, plus there are even more leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

2009_07_14_dinner

And cherries for dessert.

2009_07_14_cherries

 

7 Responses to “Leftovers Galore”

  1. Kat Says:

    What do you use for sprouting? I find when I do small seeds in a mason jar they go mouldy.

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I use a large tea strainer (holds ~1 cup, about mug sized) propped up in a 1 cup pyrex measuring cup, covered with a dish towel. And I rinse them a couple times a day for ~ 2 days.

      PS: I’m jealous of your Plan B goodies, it’s just semi impossible for me to buy a share in an apartment building were deliveries are not easy, and the depots are rather far away for the hours that they are open and I am available to go to them via TTC.

      • Kat Says:

        I know, it’s hard without a car. That’s why I love Plan B, because they’re the only one that will deliver, even though I pay something like $5 extra per box. Do you have someone you could share with? And you should check Kawartha, they have different depots from Plan B, maybe they’re closer?

        • plentifulplants Says:

          I love you right now. Yesterday I was hurrying to the registar’s office to take care of some business before it closed, but on the way I saw a CSA table set up behind Hart House and was intrigued. But all it said was “CSA” with a list of veggies and prices on the sign, and they were pretty busy so I didn’t really have time to stop and ask about it. But I totally planned on going back next week to find out more.

          Then you emailed me this morning, and I looked up Kawartha, and IT WAS THEM! So now I’m excited and must email them to see if I can join in even though the season has already started. And my roomie is excited about it too, even though a large share looks like about the right amount of food for just me for a week, despite the 2-4 people label on it, hahaha. He can get his own share, or maybe I’ll donate my leftovers to him :).

          • Kat Says:

            I’m glad! It looks like you do eat a lot of vegetables but I find what happens is you have a lot at first but have to eat it quickly, especially in salad green season.

  2. Krista Says:

    Leftovers are great!

  3. broccolihut Says:

    Mmm I never would have thought to put a nectarine in a smoothie–great idea!


Leave a Reply

