Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Feeling a Little Nutty July 15, 2009

A little fruity, a little nutty, it’s been an uninspired day in the realm of my eats. I’ve been busy doing other things and just went with what was fast and easy.

It started off with breakfast. I enjoyed a slice of my roomie’s parent’s homemade zucchini bread (including homegrown zukes and walnuts from my parent’s tree), cherries, and Amazing Grass Superfood (the regular flavour) mixed in homemade vanilla almond milk. I don’t know if it was just the vanilla fooling my taste buds, but I swear this powder tasted like chocolate, when it was just the plain flavour. And that can only be a good thing, right? Two thumbs up for sure.

2009_07_15_breakfast

Later in the morning I enjoyed some sweet honeydew melon.

2009_07_15_honeydew

And for lunch, leftover sprouted amaranth tabouli, with extra parsley added.

2009_07_15_tabouli

And in the afternoon I snacked on some dates and almonds.

2009_07_15_almonddates

Then a super simple dinner of a kale/pineapple/banana green monster.

2009_07_15_monster

And an extra dose of dates and nuts in the form of an awesome Apple Pie Larabar.

2009_07_15_larabar

I really should make some sort of non-produce, non-dried fruit/nut snacky item to keep on hand without worrying about it going bad. And without a dehydrator. Any suggestions?

 

One Response to “Feeling a Little Nutty”

  1. Krista Says:

    I think your breakfast looks really good….almost like dessert!

    My first thought for a snack was crackers, but I would imagine you’d at least need a dehydrated for that….humpf, I’m stumped!


Leave a Reply

