Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

It Started Out Raw July 23, 2009

Breakfast this morning was a funny little green monster.  I’m not entirely sure I liked it.  I split it into two parts because I wasn’t very hungry when I woke up, and the second part had a really weird texture when I pulled it out.  It contained kale, frozen grapes, wheat grass ice cubes, chia seeds, and a handful of dates and almonds.  I think the lesson is almond milk > whole almonds and banana > dates.

2009_07_23_monster

My lunch was a wonderful salad, that I luckily packed into a container with a domed lid, because I definitely needed to extra room to fit everything in.  It contained zucchini, carrot, yellow pepper, snow peas, avocado, and Marti cheese.

2009_07_23_lunch

And later I snacked on a bunch if super ripe and delicious plums and blueberries.

2009_07_23_fruit

Then dinner is what started out raw.  I blended up a very tasty soup using king oyster mushrooms, a hunk of leek, kabocha, a Kallo no salt veggie stock cube, salt, and pepper.  Garnished with some delightful Live Food Bar Nacho Chips.  The soup tasted good, but then I quickly learned something.  If you eat kabocha raw, it kinda feels like the back of your thoat is swelling up and gets really scratchy.  So I quickly stopped, and poured the soup in a pan to cook for a bit.  At this point I was paranoid, so I left it on the stove for longer than it probably needed and ended up with a very tasty kabocha mash due to the amount of water that had boiled off.  But I happy ate it without feeling like I was going to suffocate 🙂  I also enjoyed a few more nachos (and lots of water to get rid of the icky throat feeling) while waiting for the soup to cook.

2009_07_23_soup

 

3 Responses to “It Started Out Raw”

  1. Cindy Says:

    You should definitely check out Cedarvale Park. Especially if you enjoy doggies, they are plentiful in that direction. The weather isn’t very nice this weekend, BUT it you are into morning walks before st.lawerence, it could be a great thing.

    ALSO — you should check out Brickworks Farmer’s Market on Saturday Mornings. The only reason I love that route is because we get to go through the Market.

    it’s amazing.

  2. Krista Says:

    Yikes to the raw kabocha! That would be a scary thing. The soup looks fabulous, though!

  3. Kristie Says:

    Everything looks completely fresh and delicious but that soup definitely takes the cake. It looks SO luscious and creamy and amazing. Brave of you to even attempt raw kabocha in the beginning though, I don’t know if I’d try it!


Leave a Reply

