Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Ode To The Root July 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 8:17 pm

There was next to no sunlight when I got up this morning, so you get a blender shot of breakfast. I used up a bit of mango, a peach, and banana with spinach and beet greens. I don’t think I’m a huge fan of beet greens in the green monster. I had lots of fruit this morning which hid it pretty well, but under normal circumstances they’re kinda super earthy tasting.

2009_07_31_breakfast

For lunch I topped a pile of spring mix with sliced leeks, red pepper, avocado, lime juice, tomato paste, and pesto. I’m liking the raw leeks, this happy discovery will be seen many times in the future, I’m sure.

2009_07_31_lunch

I pick up some CSA goodies! All local, and organic carrots, cabbage, green onions, pak choi, kale, spring mix, cucumbers, yellow zucchini, peas, potatoes, and black raspberries (love these! we have some bushes at home and black > red raspberries any day). Ignore the oat crackers and rye bread in the back, those are the roomie’s stuff. Said roomie also went home a couple days ago, and when he came back last night, he had paid a visit to MY parents and brought me beets (only the roots, silly mom) and peas from their garden (as well as his favourite strawberry jam and frozen chinese dumplings made by my mom).

2009_07_31_csa

Dinner was a root veggie filled affair. I started off with a rather pretty looking salad of spring mix, beet, carrot, and blanched peas.

2009_07_31_salad

Then I had some fries with ketchup. I just sliced up a potato, tossed it in olive oil and italian herbs, and baked.

2009_07_31_fries

And dessert was the last of the awesome cherries. And some unpictured raisins later in the evening.

2009_07_31_cherries

And now it’s the long weekend! Yay! But I have to write a school report during it, boo!

 

One Response to “Ode To The Root”

  1. Krista Says:

    GREAT CSA haul! It all looks gorgeous….


Leave a Reply

