Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Fantastic Fish August 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 5:38 pm

I got up super late this morning, so breakfast/brunch was a green monster made of vanilla rice protein powder, banana and pak choi (asian green that looks and tastes like it’s trying to be baby dino kale to me, but the person at the CSA stand seemed pretty confident even though it was the only bunch there)

2009_08_01_monster

Later I took a little left over smoothie, and mixed in a couple tablespoons of chia seeds to make a rather fantastic pudding.

2009_08_01_pudding

And a bit later I had a Starbucks Peach and Raspberry yogurt parfait.

2009_08_01_yogurt

For dinner I cooked up what is probably to best piece of fish I’ve ever cook. I had a wild tuna fillet from Whole Foods hiding out in the freezer for a while, so I took it out to defrost yesterday, and today I rubbed it with a mixture of curry powder, sucanat, and salt. Then I seared it in a hot pan with olive oil, just until the rub started to brown (less than a minute on each side). The result was fantastic! I loved the curry and sugar combo, and it went perfectly with a bed of spring mix tossed in orange juice concentrate, and carrot and peas.

2009_08_01_salad

Now I’m headed for the movies and I’m taking this Pistachio Larabar with me.

2009_08_01_larabar

 

3 Responses to “Fantastic Fish”

  1. broccolihut Says:

    Beautiful eats, as always. What did you think of the pistachio Larabar? I’ve never tried that flavor.

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I liked it! It was nice an soft with a good pistachio flavour, definitely worth giving a try next time you’re looking to buy one.

  2. Krista Says:

    Oh, that tuna does looks marvelous!


Leave a Reply

